Host Sea Dogs fighting bulldogs in the Memorial Cup final

St. John, New Brunswick-Two teams skating on distinctly different passes in the playoffs will meet on Wednesday in the 2022 Memorial Cup final.

Host St. John Seadogs, who spent 39 days between matches after losing in the first round of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League playoffs, posted a 16-3 postseason record on his way to Ontario Hockey. Play against Su. League championship.

This is the first Memorial Cup final since 2019, when Rouyn-Noranda Huskys won the title in the Harifax tournament. The 2021 and 2022 Memorial Cup events have been wiped out due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Sea Dogs made it to the finals directly after losing two wins in qualifying rounds and overtime. Meanwhile, Hamilton demanded a 4-2 regulation victory from Edmonton Oil Kings to escape the qualifying round, winning the thrilling 4-Monday semi-final with Shawinigan Catalact in three extra times.

“We’re hanging out. A month ago, we know what people are saying about us,” he said.

“They didn’t know if we would be a good representative of the tournament, maybe we only have three games-that’s all we’ve guaranteed. Still here Is a good thing. “

Hamilton survived a seven-game series against the Windsor Spitfire, winning the OHL Crown, then dropping a series of games against St. John and Shawinigan to open the Memorial Cup.

This set the stage for qualifying against Edmonton on Friday. Anaheim prospect Mason McTabish scored two goals in Hamilton’s key win.

In Hamilton’s semi-finals, Montreal’s draft topic candidate Yanmi Shark scored points for teammate Nathan Staois to enter overtime at 10:08.

Hamilton coach Jay McKee said, “The players have found a way.” “A confident group that believes in each other and it’s a really powerful element.”

St. John and Hamilton met at the opening round of the tournament on June 20, and the Sea Dogs took the lead in the second period of 4-1 with a 5-3 victory.

“The players had a great opportunity,” McKee said. “We played St. John once, but they certainly didn’t see the best version of the Hamilton Bulldog, and I’m hoping they’ll be (Wednesday) night.”

The Sea Dogs later fell to Edmonton 4-3 overtime. Then, led by QMJHL’s most valuable player, William Dufour, they recovered Saturday’s first quarter deficit from 3-0, defeating Shawinigan 5-3 to take the lead in the qualifying round. I got it.

“They have a really good idea and have accepted everything,” McDagal said of Seadog, who finished his regular season with 15 consecutive wins.

Hamilton was 51-12-3-2 in the regular season, led by Logan Morrison’s 100-point campaign and 66 points from the OHL Defense of the Year Staos.

New York Islanders prospect, who leads the tournament with six goals, was named QMJHLMVP after the 116-point season, which includes the 56 Canadian Hockey League’s best 56 goals.

Linemate Josh Lawrence finished the year with 101 points and entered the league with 70 assists. This also set a record for the franchise.

This is St. John’s fourth Memorial Cup appearance, as the franchise appears to be added to the 2011 Championship in Mississauga.

Hamilton has made his second tournament appearance after losing to host Regina Pats in the 2018 semi-finals.

Meanwhile, it was a big night for the Dallas Stars prospects at the Canadian Hockey League Awards on Tuesday.

Logan Stankoven of Kamloops Blazers was selected as the David Branch CHL player of the year, scoring 104 points in 59 regular season games.

Stancoven, a 5-foot 10 center star in the second round of the 2021 NHL Draft, scored more than 3 points in 18 regular season games, including the 5-point game on November 3rd. .. And January 29th.

Dallas’ first pick, Wyatt Johnston, was CHL’s top scorer in 2021 in 23rd place overall, scoring 124 points in 68 Windsor Spitfire games.

Shane Wright of Kingston Frontenax won the Top Draft Prospect Award and Bradieen Jaeger of the Moosejaw Warriors was selected as the Rookie of the Year.

Jim Halton of the Charlottetown Islanders won the Coach of the Year Award after leading the team to the first Presidents Cup appearance in franchise history.

Hamilton Bulldog Nathan Star Ois has won this year’s honorary defense. Kamloops Brazers’ Dylan Garand was awarded the Goalkeeper of the Year, and Halifax Moose Heads’ Jordan Dumais was awarded the Sportsman Player of the Year.

Owen Beck of Mississauga Steelheads was elected scholar of the year, and Luke Prokop of Edmonton Oil Kings was elected humanitarian of the year.

Host Sea Dogs fighting bulldogs in the Memorial Cup final

Source link Host Sea Dogs fighting bulldogs in the Memorial Cup final

Related Articles

Back to top button