DMZ reveals DMZ Women of the Year, the first winner of The Canadian Business Journal

Toronto, Canada, March 11, 2022 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) —To celebrate International Women’s Day, the DMZ announces the first winners of the long-awaited annual award, DMZ’s Women of the Year. Launched this year, the award recognizes the inspirational women of Canada’s technology and business community and aims to highlight their contribution to outstanding performance and the creation of influence.

Curated by the technology and business community, we have received nearly 600 award nominations from across Canada. The final list of winners represents change makers that identify innovative women from a variety of backgrounds and industries, including startup founders, corporate leaders, non-profit pioneers, and emerging youth.

The winners of the DMZ 2022 Women of the Year Award are:

  • Dr. Adeola Olubamiji, Founder of D-Tech Centrix Inc
  • Clavis Studio co-founder Adetoun Abby Aiyeleye
  • Andrea Golog, Vice President of Fusion and Risk Governance at CIBC
  • Andrea Mathieson, High Growth Coach and Advisor
  • April Dunford, Founder of Ambient Strategy
  • Arati Sharma, founding partner of the Backbone Angels and co-founder of Ghlee
  • Arielle Lok, co-founder of Peko Produce
  • Arlene Dickinson, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Venture Park
  • WearWave co-founder and co-founder Arya Dixit
  • Claudette McGowan, Global Executive Officer for Cybersecurity at TD Bank
  • Emma Kirwin, Co-founder and CEO of Dirt Market
  • Erin Elofson, Head of Canada and APAC Region on Pinterest
  • Borrowell Co-founder and COO, Eva Wong
  • Eyitemi Popo, Program Manager, Mozilla Foundation Technical Relations
  • Fowzia Mahamed, Founder and CEO of EduCare
  • Jace Meyer, Executive Director, Indigenous Innovation Institute
  • Janet Banister, Managing Partner of Real Ventures
  • Janice Fukakusa CM, President of Ryerson University
  • Jayme Hoyte, co-founder and director of SmartTerm Limited
  • BuyProperly Founder and CEO, Khushboo Jha
  • Kirstine Stewart, Chief Revenue Officer of Pex
  • Lauren Steinberg, SVP of Loblaw Digital
  • Leen Li, CEO of Wealthsimple Foundation
  • Lucy Ho, Founder and Executive Director of Hackergal
  • Lyn Chen, co-founder and COO of
  • Mayan Ziv, Founder and CEO of Access Now
  • Marie Chevrier Schwartz, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of the Sampler
  • Megan Chaika, co-founder and co-founder of Stasleet
  • Michelin Linn, Founder of Artea Therapy
  • Michelle Caers, CEO and co-founder of Crowdmark
  • Naila Moloo, Project Intern at Pond Biomaterials
  • LumiQ Chief Pamela Forster
  • Rebecca Rose, Co-founder and CEO of Studeo
  • Rola Dagher, Global Channel Chief of Dell Technologies
  • Walletifai co-founder and CEO Roya Kachooei
  • Sabrina Jeremiah, VP and Country Manager of Google Canada
  • Womaneze Co-founder and CEO Salma El-Yassir
  • Overlay Toronto founder Samantha Ouyan
  • Sang Le, co-founder of Peko Produce
  • Shingai Manjengwa, Director of Professional Development, Vector Artificial Intelligence Laboratory
  • Graphite Ventures Investor Snita Balsara
  • Swob Inc. co-founder Stephanie Florio
  • Tanya Qadir, Partner Success Director of The Rumie Initiative
  • Tara Deschamps, Business Journalist at The Canadian Press
  • Temilora Adebayo, Co-founder and COO of HumanSquad Inc.
  • Teresa Marquez, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Rideau Hall Foundation

“It is imperative to recognize and celebrate the contributions of women to advancing Canada’s technology ecosystem, not just one month or one day a year, but always.” Arati Sharma, Founding Partner of Backbone Angels, Entrepreneurs and official winners. “We need to continue to empower companies led by women and people, in addition to funding to support these groups. Power representatives are to drive influential change. I am grateful to the DMZ for being recognized with this group of outstanding female leaders. “

“The DMZ is enthusiastic about officially announcing the first winners of the DMZ Women of the Year. Their contribution to Canada’s technology and business landscape is immeasurable,” he said. DMZ Executive Director Abdullah Snowbar.. “Women, especially colored women, do not have equal access to Canada’s technology and business ecosystem. This award has one purpose in mind to spotlight their work and achievements. It was designed.

For more information on all DMZ Women of the Year Award winners, please visit

Nominations for the DMZ Women of the Year Awards for next year will begin in early 2023.


  • DMZ woman of the year

CBJ News Maker

DMZ reveals DMZ Women of the Year, the first winner of The Canadian Business Journal

Source link DMZ reveals DMZ Women of the Year, the first winner of The Canadian Business Journal

Related Articles

Back to top button